Prof. Dr. Hinrich Uellendahl

Contact data

Phone +49 (0) 461 805 1293
Mail hinrich.uellendahl [at] hs-flensburg.de
Street Kanzleistraße 91-93
ZIP, City D-249 Flensburg
Department Department of Mechanical Engineering, Process Engineering and Maritime Technologies
Building B
Room B 219

Research

University Flensburg University of Applied Sciences

Biography

Hinrich Uellendahl (née Hartmann) came to Flensburg for the first time after graduating from high school in 1986, when he first did two years of community service at the Diakonissenanstalt and then completed a three-year training as a heath-care assistant. He then began studying technical environmental protection at the Technical University of Berlin in 1992, which he graduated in 1998 with a degree in engineering. After studying abroad at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) as part of his diploma thesis, he continued his work at the DTU in the field of biotechnology and process engineering, where he obtained his doctorate in biogas technology in 2003. His PhD thesis is entitled “Anaerobic digestion of the organic fraction of municipal waste with recirculation of process water”.

He continued research and development in the field of converting biomass into biogas and other fuels from 2003 to 2008 as an assistant professor and later as an associate professor at the DTU. In 2008 he moved to the newly founded research group “Sustainable Biotechnology” as Associate Professor at Aalborg University (AAU), Copenhagen Campus. The focus here was the development of sustainable concepts for the use of biomass, in particular organic residues, for the production of fuels and biomass-based chemicals. In this context, Prof. Uellendahl acquired and led numerous research projects and taught bioprocess engineering.

In March 2019, Hinrich Uellendahl returned to Flensburg as a professor in the field of mechanical engineering, process engineering and maritime technologies at the Flensburg University of Applied Sciences. Here he continues his research and teaching in the field of sustainable energetic and material use of biomass. Accordingly, his expertise in the ZNES is to what extent the sustainable energetic use of biomass can be coupled and optimized with other regenerative energy sources.

Prof. Dr. Uellendahl is also the spokesman for the competence center for renewable energies and Climate Protection of the State of Schleswig-Holstein (EEK.SH)

Prof. Dr. Hinrich Uellendahl

Kontakt

Telefon +49 (0) 461 805 1293
Mail hinrich.uellendahl [at] hs-flensburg.de
Straße Kanzleistraße 91-93
PLZ, Stadt D-249 Flensburg
Institut / Abteilung Fachbereich Maschinenbau, Verfahrenstechnik und Maritime Technologien
Gebäude B
Raum B 219

Forschung & Lehre

Hochschule Hochschule Flensburg

Biographie

Hinrich Uellendahl (geb. Hartmann) kam nach seinem Abitur 1986 zum ersten Mal nach Flensburg, als er an der Diakonissenanstalt erst seinen zweijährigen Zivildienst leistete und anschließend eine dreijährige Ausbildung zur Krankenpflegefachkraft absolvierte. Im Anschluss begann er 1992 sein Studium des technischen Umweltschutzes an der Technischen Universität Berlin, welches er 1998 als Diplom-Ingenieur abschloss. Nach dem Auslandsaufenthalt an der Technical University of Denmark (DTU) im Rahmen seiner Diplomarbeit, setzte er nach beendetem Studium seine Arbeit an der DTU im Fachbereich Biotechnologie und -verfahrenstechnik fort und erlangte dort 2003 seinen Doktortitel im Bereich der Biogastechnologie. Seine PhD Thesis trägt den Titel „Anaerobic digestion of the organic fraction of municipal waste with recirculation of process water”.

Die Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der Umsetzung von Biomasse zu Biogas und anderen Treibstoffen führte er von 2003 bis 2008 als Assistant Professor und später als Associate Professor an der DTU fort. Im Jahre 2008 wechselte er als Associate Professor an die Aalborg Universität (AAU), Campus Kopenhagen, in die neugegründete Forschungsgruppe „Sustainable Biotechnology“. Schwerpunkt war hier die Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Konzepten der Nutzung von Biomasse, insbesondere von organischen Reststoffen, zur Herstellung von Treibstoffen und Biomasse-basierten Chemikalien. In diesem Rahmen akquirierte und leitete Prof. Uellendahl zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte und war in der Lehre in der Bioverfahrenstechnik tätig.

Im März 2019 kehrte Hinrich Uellendahl als Professor im Fachbereich Maschinenbau, Verfahrenstechnik und Maritime Technologien an der Hochschule Flensburg nach Flensburg zurück. Hier setzt er seine Forschung und Lehre im Bereich der nachhaltigen energetischen und stofflichen Biomassenutzung fort. Dementsprechend ist seine Expertise im ZNES, inwieweit die nachhaltige energetische Biomassenutzung mit anderen regenerativen Energiequellen gekoppelt und optimiert werden kann.

Prof. Dr. Uellendahl ist zudem Sprecher des Kompetenzzentrums für erneuerbare Energien und Klimaschutz des Landes Schleswig-Holstein (EEK.SH).